by Nola McKinney

It's difficult to believe that the calendar has rolled around to that time of year when I begin to bug you for those wonderful letters of nomination to the awards committee. I am sure that when you sat in convention and heard me giving out those prestigious awards, you said to yourself, "Why didn't I write that award for that special person I admire?" You sit in the audience and recall all the things they've accomplished and put off the actual letter writing.

Well, I have news for you. NOW is the time. Don't delay; get that letter written!

My great awards committee, consisting of Lynne Koral, Edwin Newell, Dawn Flewwellin, Patrick Sheehan, Billie Jean Keith and myself, needs lots of nominations to consider. Come on, make our job more exciting and interesting! Give us lots of nominations to consider!

Remember, there are several different awards to choose from; each has different criteria. Please read carefully all the awards below and then fit the individual to the award. Send your letters to the awards committee, in care of the national office; the address is 1155 15th St. NW, Suite 1004, Washington, DC 20005. Won't it be fun to watch that person you nominated receive that award?

The Robert S. Bray Award is given to a person who has made a contribution for improving library technology or communication devices. It could also be given for expanding access for blind people, or making opportunities within the mainstream media.

The George Card Award is given to an individual who has dedicated his or her life to work with and for blind people, making a real difference and improving quality of life, for providing leadership and being a positive role model.

The Durward K. McDaniel Ambassador Award is one of our most popular awards. It is given in recognition of a blind person who may or may not be a member of a blindness organization but who has spent his or her life integrating with the community.

The James R. Olsen Distinguished Service Award is periodically given to individuals who have made important contributions which have advanced opportunities for the blind community. This award can be given to an individual or an organization.

The Affiliate Growth Award is based on the greatest increase in membership, as determined by the 2006-2007 membership reports.

The Affiliate Outreach Award is based on a recommendation by an affiliate president, which recognizes a local chapter for a new outreach program. This program must have a measurable outcome.

The awards committee eagerly awaits your letters of nomination. Please send them soon, or I'll be bugging you again.

Printer-Friendly Version

Previous Article

Next Article

Return to Table of Contents

Return to the Braille Forum Index