We honor here members, friends and supporters of the American Council of the Blind who have impacted our lives in many wonderful ways. If you would like to submit a notice for this column, please include as much of the following information as possible.
Name (first, last, maiden if appropriate)
City of residence (upon passing)
State/province of residence (upon passing)
Other cities/states/countries of residence (places where other blind people may have known this person)
Date of death (day if known, month, year)
ACB affiliation (local/state/special-interest affiliates or national committees)
Deaths that occurred more than six months ago cannot be reported in this column.
Filo Tu
Reprinted from “The Honolulu Star-Advertiser,” July 31, 2016.
Filo Kapesi Tu, 64, of Honolulu, president and CEO of Blind Vendors Ohana, died in Honolulu. He was born in Utulei, American Samoa. He is survived by wife Jeanette; son Tavita; hanai sons Keith and Bobby Hardy; hanai daughter Susan Moriwaki; brothers Taumaoe and Peni Kapesi, and Peni Jennings, Kapesi Tu Jr., Charlie J. Kosi, Aleli Niumata and So’oleoso Gago; sisters Mafaolo Savea, Fano M. Saveoi, Toetu Mao, Sa T. Ortiz, Malata K. Matu’u, Peleitala Kapesi and Lelalni Seui; 17 grandchildren; and 16 great-grandchildren.  Services were held Aug. 6 at Nuuanu Memorial Park and Mortuary.