Scholarships Spark Future Successes

by Michael Garrett 

It’s in the process!  The process that leads to a particular planned result.  If you were not at this year’s ACB conference and convention in Sparks, Nev., you missed the result of the process that your scholarship committee used to select this year’s scholarship winners.  Indeed, the committee did it again, selecting another outstanding class of students! 
There were over 100 initial applicants, which made the selection process difficult. However, after much deliberation, the committee finally decided on this group of students. The awards presented ranged from $1,500 to $4,000, which represented an increase in the amount we were able to give. The list of scholarship winners is below, along with their fields of study and schools.
Bay State Council of the Blind Scholarship
·      Matthew Shifrin, majoring in contemporary improvisation, New England Conservatory, Boston, Mass.
Blue Ridge Scholarship
·      Miranda Borka, Bachelor of Science in Social Work, Liberty University, Lynchburg, Va.
Duane Buckley Memorial Scholarship
·      Trinh Ha, Bachelor of Science in Nutrition, University of Central Arkansas, Conway, Ark.
Dr. S. Bradley Burson Memorial Science Scholarship and Norma Shecter Memorial Scholarship
·      Olivia Charland, Bachelor of Science in Environmental Sciences, University of Vermont, Burlington, Vt.
Kellie Cannon Memorial Scholarship
·      Michael Fulton, Bachelor of Science in Information Technology, Western New England University, Springfield, Mass.
William G. Corey Memorial Scholarship
·      Benjamin Chase, Bachelor of Science in Psychology, Lebanon Valley College, Annville, Pa.
Marcia Dresser Memorial Scholarship
·      Amber Steet, Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education, Kutztown University, Kutztown, Pa.
Eunice Fiorito Memorial Scholarship
·      Moses Babafemi, Master of Science in Rehabilitation Counseling, California State University, Fullerton, Calif.
John Hebner Memorial Scholarship
·      Leonard Moore, Ph.D. in Adult Education, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, N.C.
James R. Olsen Memorial Scholarship
·      Matthew Turner, Master of Finance, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass.
Oregon Council of the Blind Scholarship
·      Qassim Saad, Master of Science in Nuclear Engineering, Portland State University, Portland, Ore.

The Ross N. Pangere Foundation for the Visually Impaired Scholarships
·      Matthew Miller, Bachelor of Science in Actuarial Science, Michigan State University, East Lansing, Mich.
·      Kartik Sawney, Master of Computer Science, Stanford University, Stanford, Calif.
·      Sasha Somuah, Bachelor of Business Administration, George Washington University, Washington, D.C.
Floyd Qualls Memorial Scholarships
·      Millad Bokhouri, Master of Public Health, West Chester University, West Chester, Pa.
·      Abby Edwards, Ph.D. in Clinical Health Psychology, Wright State University, Dayton, Ohio
·      Dora Hernandez, Master of Science in Rehabilitation Counseling, University of Northern Colorado, Greeley, Colo.
·      Ethan Markowitz, Bachelor of Business, Northwestern University, Evanston, Ill.
·      Cassandra Mendez, Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering, Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio
Arnold Sadler Memorial Scholarship
·      Lindsay Ball, Bachelor of Science in Physical Education, State University of New York, Brockport, N.Y.
This class was brimming with talent, intelligence and enthusiasm. The variety of abilities ranged from one of our winners appearing in an off-Broadway production, to one slated for employment at Microsoft upon graduation. There was a strong sense of camaraderie among the group and an eagerness to tackle their chosen pursuits. 
The scholarship committee sincerely thanks the following people and groups for their help this year: ACB Students for their mentoring partnerships and showing the winners the convention ropes; the donors who provided funding; our sponsors, which included RSVA, Cox Communications and ACB Lions; and our Minnesota office staff, along with Janet Dickelman.  You guys really made it happen!
We wish these students all the best; may they reach their goals and have strength to withstand life’s tests.
Applications for the 2018-2019 school year will be posted online Nov. 1, 2017. We look forward to presenting another group of deserving winners next year.