by Nola McKinney

It's March. The flowers are starting to come up, the grass is beginning to green up, and our mailbox is still empty. So I take this opportunity as chairperson of the awards committee to remind you that the deadline for award nominations is May 1, 2007.

It is such a thrill to sit out in the audience at convention on awards day and hear the person you nominated be surprised with an award. It doesn't have to be an outstanding letter or even a great one, just as long as you write it from your heart.

Think about it. There has to be someone you truly admire and really would like to see receive that ACB award. I know when I received one from Ohio what it meant to me! It is still hanging up on my wall in my office to remind me of the wonderful feeling of pride and joy it gave me.

So here is our gentle nudge to you. Feel it? Now read over the different awards and select the one that fits your special person. Send your nomination to the attention of the awards committee, care of the ACB national office, 1155 15th St. NW, Suite 1004, Washington, DC 20005.

The Robert S. Bray Award is given to a person who has made a contribution for improving library technology or communication devices. It could also be given for expanding access for blind people, or making opportunities within the mainstream media.

The George Card Award is given to an individual who has dedicated his or her life to work with and for blind people, making a real difference and improving quality of life, for providing leadership and being a positive role model.

The Durward K. McDaniel Ambassador Award is one of our most popular awards. It is given in recognition of a blind person who may or may not be a member of a blindness organization but who has spent his or her life integrating with the community.

The James R. Olsen Distinguished Service Award is periodically given to individuals who have made important contributions which have advanced opportunities for the blind community. This award can be given to an individual or an organization.

The Affiliate Growth Award is based on the greatest increase in membership, as determined by the 2006-2007 membership reports.

The Affiliate Outreach Award is based on a recommendation by an affiliate president, which recognizes a local chapter for a new outreach program. This program must have a measurable outcome.

See you in July!

Printer-Friendly Version

Previous Article

Next Article

Return to Table of Contents

Return to the Braille Forum Index