American  Council  of the  Blind

The American Council of the Blind of Minnesota (ACBM) began in the early 1970's, as the "Gopher State Blind Association." The name was changed to the American Council of the Blind of Minnesota in the early 1980's, when the organization became formally affiliated with the American Council of the Blind (ACB).

The American Council of the Blind of Minnesota is an organization that looks to the future, while recognizing the lessons taught by the past. Please join ACBM in making a better future for all blind Minnesotans.

ACBM is a 501(c)(3) organization. If you would like to donate, it will be tax deductible.

This button can also be used for paying for dues, quarterly meetings, events and auction stuff! Just enter the purpose - you do not need to have a PayPal account to use this.

ACBM Mailbox: ACBM
PO Box 7341
Minneapolis, MN 55407
Email Lists   MN Blind Chat for all Minnesotans
Twitter   ACBMNUSA
Facebook   Non-Profit Page
    Social Media Page


Information on Central Corridor Light Rail

The link to the Central Corridor Light Rail is For those on Twitter, the address is

Save the Date!

ACBM Coffee Gathering - 2nd Saturday of the month Quarterly Meeting - October 25, 2014
ACBM Convention in Bloomington, MN, - January 23-25, 2015

Daily 3 is back!

Itís time to start thinking about the American Council of the Blind of Minnesota (ACBM) Daily-3 fundraiser. By purchasing a ticket you will have ten chances to win $25! You can purchase a ticket for $5. When the 2 digit number on your ticket matches the last two digits of the Minnesota Daily-3 lottery number, in the order drawn, you will win $25. You have 10 different chances to win starting on October 26, 2014 and ending on November 4, 2014.

You can send your money now for Daily-3 tickets to the ACBM Mailbox listed above, or via the Paypal Donate button near the top of the ACBM home page or by paying at the October Quarterly meeting.

Quarterly Meeting on October 25th at Joseph's Grille in St. Paul

Our October quarterly meeting will be held on October 25th at Joseph's Grille, 140 S Wabasha, in Saint Paul.
Social hour is from 11:30 until 12:30 followed by lunch and our business meeting. The meeting will conclude by 4:00 PM.

Luncheon choices are:

  1. Cheeseburger.
  2. Taco Salad: an Edible Tortilla Bowl Packed with Shredded Ice Berg Lettuce, Tomato's, Red Onions, Shredded Cheddar Cheese, Seasoned Ground Beef, Guacamole, Sour Cream and our Spicy House Salsa.
  3. Turkey Club: Smoked Turkey, Lettuce, Tomato, Red Onion, Bacon, Swiss & American Cheese on a French Baguette.
    Vegetarian option available on request.

Meal cost is $12.00.

Agenda items include:

  • Visit from Metro Mobility or Light rail
  • Discussion of ACBM State Convention
  • ACB tribute to James Olsen
  • Audio books sales

Additional items will be added to the meeting agenda.

Please e-mail Steve Robertson with your meal choices at or call him at (612) 819-5222.

We would appreciate hearing from you by Sunday September 28th.

Cancellation policy: If you make a reservation and then find you are unable to attend, please call Steve by noon on Friday October 24th. If you cancel after that time you will be responsible for paying for your meal.

We look forward to seeing you.
ACBM Calling Committee

ACBM Convention is coming - January 23-25. Visit ACBM Convention News for information!


The Summer 2014 Memo is now available online ...


ACBM Coffee Gathering - 2nd Saturday of the month

The ACBM Coffee Gathering will be held from 10-12 a.m. at
Panera Bread
809 Nicollet Avenue


To help ACBM even more, use Good Search at as your search engine. It will ask you to enter your charity; use American Council of the Blind of Minnesota.

Web Access Symbol for people with disabilities Copyright © 2014
American Council of the Blind of Minnesota
Mike Hally, Membership Information
Carolyn Coby, Webmaster